Home

Over the weekend the Black Rock Coalition Orchestra saluted my father at BAM. The stage was graced by amazing talent, the Cafe in the Brooklyn Academy Of Music was packed for both nights. Saturday may have gone over capacity — clearly the result of the word on Friday’s show getting out there. The B.R.C.O. couldn’t have done a finer job of spreading the love. The man who conceived of the evening, Darrell McNeil, shares not only a love of his music, but he shares with me the determination to see my father honored for his contributions to the Universe. I cannot thank Darrell enough for pulling together these beautiful evenings.

 

It is almost impossible to try to describe, as I was so taken by the amount of love and honor that was poured into both nights. I was enraptured by the different interpretations of songs that have been imbedded  in my experience since I was a child. I went to the event fully expecting an amazing show, but I was a little surprised to be completely moved to tears! –the whole experience was far more than I could have expected! The artists involved played with such humble respect. They, as honored to play the music as I was to listen.  I felt so proud of my father,  proud of these stellar musicians and most of all, proud to be entwined in the rope of such an exquisite lineage.

 

On Saturday, I spent the day with my dad. He was so humbled to hear about this show of appreciation and love! I can’t wait to share the experience with him when the footage is edited and this very special gift is ready for him to enjoy.

My father turned 72 on the day of the second Inauguration of our fine Black President, which happened to fall upon the celebration of Martin Luther King Jr.’s birthday. Happy Birthday Dad!! We have come a long way since your days on the corner singing doo wop with the boys and dreaming of a grand future!

 

Here is a little taste of Saturday night…. Enjoy!!

<p><a href=”http://vimeo.com/57816111″>BRC Salute to Richie Havens – “Run, Shaker Life”</a> from <a href=”http://vimeo.com/editguy”>Bill Bryant</a> on <a href=”http://vimeo.com”>Vimeo</a&gt;.</p>

A very special thank you to the performers, your love was felt far and wide and super deep…

Akie Bermiss (Aabaraki) – vocals, keyboards

Maritri Garrett (Soulfolk Experience) – piano, vocals

King Julia (Fifth Nation) – vocals, guitar

Andre Lassalle – guitars

Darrell M. McNeill – bass, musical direction

Lisette Santiago – percussion

LaFrae Sci – drums

V. Jeffrey Smith (The Family Stand) – guitar, flute, sax

Stew (The Negro Problem/Passing Strange) – vocals, guitar

Kelsey Warren (Pillow Theory) – vocals

3 thoughts on “Salute!

  1. Rachel, What a wonderful experience. I love the way you write and express yourself. I’m so glad that you are realizing the magnificent heritage you have! There is no other voice than your Dad that combines the passion and urgency of awakening with the tender, sensitivity of soul. The beauty that he is alive in his voice and has impacted a generation and beyond. I love his sound, lyrics and nobody can strum the guitar like him! So glad you are blossoming and bringing forth your own creative fruit and carrying on the tradition of love and truth. Love & Blessings, Esther

    • Yes, Esther, it was truly a wonderful experience, he is an incredible inspiration to so many and this weekend was a beautiful display of that influence. A real treasure that I will hold deep in my heart…

      I need to say to your comment, that I have ALWAYS realized the magnificent heritage that I come from, but I have never had any desire to blast the news, or info about my heritage anywhere, for any reason. It has been my practice and my right to speak very little of my family business, and my goals have always been to create a legacy that stands on its own and shines simply for the reason of who I am and what I have to offer.

      If you had any idea what it is like to be a Havens in this town, you would understand why I have not built who I am on the fame of my Father.

      That said, this experience was one that could not go unspoken, or unappreciated. I Was so truly moved by it, that I took the chance of speaking of it publicly, as these artists deserve to be honored.

  2. Ester, what can I say, you have said it all! I first heard Richie sing when I was 16, at the Blues Cafe in Province Town, Cape Cod.
    I was hooked! He was dressed in a long black robe, and I had never heard anyone sing, sound, or feel like him. It was a night to remember!!! Rachel, I feel lucky to know you!!! You are your Father’s daughter! So creative! always working on a project, always” running”, and a gifted writer!!! XO

Leave a comment